We Can Do It! WWII Schedule of Events

Saturdays, February 1, 2020 through Tuesday, April 7 2020
Sundays CLOSED except during special presentations
Mondays 11:00-8:00
Tuesdays 11:00-8:00
Wednesdays 11:00-8:00
Thursdays 11:00-8:00
Fridays 11:00-5:00
Saturdays 10:00-5:00
Or by special arrangement

Schedule will be updated as events are added.

Exhibit opens 1:00 pm Saturday Feb. 1

Friday Feb. 7 at 7:00 pm Grand Opening Reception
Live Kylie Santoro Horrel, STRIVE Performing Arts Center followed by Big Band and WWII-era music
A Taste of Donora featuring heavy hors d’oeuvres by Donora restaurants.
Donations accepted

Saturday Feb. 8 at 1:00 pm
“The Home Front” with Donora Historian, Dr. David Lonich

Saturday, Feb 15 at 1:00 pm
“The German Soldier in WWII–Truth or Myth” with Stuart Boyd, Rostraver Historical Society

Saturday, Feb 22 at 12:30 “Behind the Scenes–Putting Together the WWII Exhibit” with Leslie Przybylek, curator, Heinz History Center

2:00 “The Steel City in WWII” with Leslie Przybylek, curator, Heinz History Center

Saturday, Feb 29 at 1:00 pm “WWII Light Infantry Weapons” with Ron Maxson, USMC (Ret) and WWII collector

WWII Trivia “Medal of Honor Recipients” and “Young Marines” with Ron Maxson

Saturday,March 7 at 11:00 am “The General, the Major and the Sergeant”–The 116th Regiment of the 29th Division on Omaha Beach on D-Day with Glenn Flickinger-WWII Historian

“A Pearl Harbor Nurse’s Aide” with Glenn Flickinger, WWII Historian

Saturday, March 14 at 1:00 “WWII Fashions on the Home Front and Frontlines” with Debbie Popp Gilbert, Elizabeth Historical Society

Tea Social– Donora and Elizabeth Historical Societies. Admission fee, RSVP needed.

Saturday, March 28 at 9:00 Veterans Breakfast Club breakfast for veterans and collection of oral histories. Free for veterans and their guests. RSVP required. Location, American Legion Post 212 Donora.

12:00 pm “A Donora Mill Machinist Family’s WWII Experience with Dorothy Frye Walker, Starweather Circle Ladies G.A.R, Monongahela.

Sunday, April 5 at 2:00 pm Judah Samet-An Afternoon with a Holocaust Survivor will discuss his life experiences, some of which include being taken to the infamous Bergen-Belsen camp with his family at the age of six.

Tuesday, April 7 at 7:00 pm “Portraits for the Homefront: The Story of Elizabeth Black” with David Solomon, WQED Executive Producer

School Tours scheduled:

Monday Feb. 24 9:00-10:30 *Ringgold Middle School

Tuesday Feb. 25 9:00-10:30 *Ringgold Middle School

Wednesday Feb. 26 9:00-10:30
*Ringgold Middle School

Thursday Feb. 27 9:00-10:30
*Ringgold Middle School

Thursday Feb. 27 2:00-3:30
*Ringgold Middle School

Friday, March 13 9:30-11:30 *Madonna Catholic

Tuesday, March 17 9:30-11:30
*Ringgold Elementary School

Wednesday, March 18 9:30-11:30
*Ringgold Elementary School South

Call Donora Public Library, 724-379-7940 to schedule your school group.